Volume 41

October, 2022

Issue 2

Virginia Guerrero, Editor Vpguerrero520@aol.com The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron – Texas State – Area VIII – Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

Meeting Dates 5:00	
Nov 7,	Killeen
Monday	Grace
	Lutheran
	Church
Dec 5,	Killeen
Monday	Grace
	Lutheran
	Church

2022 - 2024 OFFICERS

2022 - 2024 OFFICERS
President:
Angelan Ringland
1st Vice-President:
Kay Townsend
2 nd Vice-President:
Evelyn Thompson
Recording Secretary:
Michele Cox
Corresponding Secretary:
Lois Piper
Treasurer:
Carolyn Taylor
Parliamentarian:
Elaine Krause



Past President: BJ Taylor



President's Remarks

Notes from Angelan...



Hello everyone!

Wow! What a turn out for our fall/Halloween goodies! Thank you for everyone who brought goodies (even if they ended on the road)!

Congratulations goes out to Lisa Yates for "Most Festive", Michele Cox for "Best Tasting" and "Best Looking", Donna Ringland for "Most Unique" and Nancy Arrington for "Most Creative".

Thank you to those ladies that made cards for our Veterans Day. Hopefully everyone learned something new about your rights as a professional educator in Texas. If you would like the PowerPoint from the presentation, please email at dance_0419@yahoo.com. I can't wait to see everyone for our next meeting at our new Killeen location, Grace Lutheran Church on November 7th. We will hear from the past president of Texas Retired Teachers Association. Don't forget we have a fundraiser at Kendra Scott from 3-5PM on Saturday, November 5th. See you soon!

Angelan Ringland, President



October Minutes

- √ 10/3/2022
- ✓ Inspiration
- ✓ Intro Guests
- ✓ Essential Rights of Teachers PPT by Ringland
- ✓ Yearly Budget Overview by Carolyn
- ✓ January 14th, 1-4 CPE credit seminar Social Emotional Learning Restorative Practices CCISD DTF Presenter Sarah Kenney
- ✓ Deadlines
- ✓ Door Prizes
- ✓ Food Winners Most Festive Lisa Yates Best Looking and Best Tasting – Michele Cox Most Unique – Donna Ringland Most Creative – Nancy Arrington
- ✓ Sing
- ✓ Making Veterans Card

Respectfully submitted,

Michele Cox, Recording Secretary

MEETING DATES

November 7th Monday, at 5:00PM in Killeen at Grace Lutheran Church (1007 Bacon Ranch Road, Killeen TX 76542)

December 5th Monday, at 5:00PM in Killeen at Grace Lutheran Church (1007 Bacon Ranch Road, Killeen TX 76542)

January 9th Monday, at 5:00PM in Copperas Cove at First Presbyterian Church of Copperas Cove (704 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Copperas Cove, TX 76522)

February 6th Monday, at 5:00PM in Killeen at Grace Lutheran Church (1007 Bacon Ranch Road, Killeen TX 76542)

March 4th Saturday, at Rudy's in Killeen (5621 E. Central Texas Expy, Killeen, TX 76543)

April 3rd Monday, at 5:00PM in Copperas Cove at First Presbyterian Church of Copperas Cove (704 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Copperas Cove, TX 76522)

May 1st Monday, at 5:00PM in Killeen at Grace Lutheran Church (1007 Bacon Ranch Road, Killeen TX 76542)



Treasurer's Report - October 15, 2022

Cash Balance: September 14, 2022	\$ 3,122.48
Receipts:	
Children's Christmas \$195.00	
Door Prize 55.00	\$ 250.00
None	
Cash Balance	\$ 3,372.48
Investments:	
Lambda Omicron Savings 09/27/2022	\$ 6,328.98
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 09/23/2022 (Student Scholarship)	\$ 6,754.59
Mae Stevens Members' Scholarship 09/30/2022	\$ 5,472.34
ivide dievens ivienibers dendialship 03/30/2022	ψ 3,472.34
Total Worth	\$21,928.39

Respectfully submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer

October - Halloween Tricks or Treats

Carolyn Taylor Pat Bigford BJ Taylor





Making cards for Veterans

Donna Ringland Lisa Yates Michele Cox







Carolyn Taylor

Nancy Arrington, Ella Dawn Eiland





The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER STANDING COMMITTEES 2022-2023



Society Mission and Purposes

Educational Excellence

Kathryn Townsend (Chair)

Nancy Arrington

Ella Dawn Eiland

Michele Cox

Personal Growth /Services

Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair)

Lois Piper

Angela Dunlap

Legislation/Professional

Affairs

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Kathryn Townsend

BJ Taylor

Music

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Janet Leitch

Research

Michele Cox (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Educational Services

Scholarship/World

Fellowship/

Achievement Awards

Jan Stalder (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Carolyn Taylor

Lisa Yates

Society Business

Ceremonies Committee

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Janet Leitch

Erica Green

Kelley Grubb

Chapter Website

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Kelley Grubb

Finance Committee

Marianna McDonnell (Chair)

Alejandra Uscanga

Donna Ringland

Yearbook

Evelyn Thompson (Chair)

Pat Bigford

Newsletter

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Membership

Lois Piper (Chair)

Angela Dunlap

Constitution & Bylaws

Committee

Lisa Yates (Chair)

Kathryn Townsend

Alejandra Uscanga

Communications/Courtesy

Ann Harmon (Chair)

Rebecca (Becky) Clark

Nominations Committee

Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green

Marianna McDonnell

BJ Taylor

