Volume 38

Issue 2

October, 2019

Virginia Guerrero, editor Vpguerrero520@aol.com The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron - Texas State - Area VIII - Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

Meeting Dates 4:45		
Nov. 2 –	Logan's	
Saturday	Roadhouse	
<mark>1:00</mark>	Restaurant	
	Killeen	
Dec. 2 –	Little Tex	
<mark>4:45</mark>	Restaurant	
	Copperas	
	Cove	

President's Remarks Notes from BJ



Dear DKG Sisters.



It is your President back from her world travels. Don and I spent 14 day on a Mediterranean Cruise. It was a wonderful time, even better on day 7 when Don got his luggage and on day 8 when I got mine.

We are getting very close to getting in our house. By the time of our next meeting I am sure to be able to have a final date. The flooring is going in as this goes to print.

Thank you to Krystal and everyone that made our last meeting a success while I was out of the loop. You all are the best. I heard that the programs (Vanessa Wheat and Scentsy) went well. Please remember to bring your money for Christmas to turn into Vanessa and your fundraiser sheet and money to turn into Stacy to our next meeting.

Our next meeting will be on 2 November at Logan's in Killeen at 1:00. Hope to see all of you there. We will be having a safety program put on by the Killeen Police Department.

Communications/Courtesy and Personal Growth/Services are in charge of Inspirational Thought, Door Prizes and general welcoming of our guests. That's you Ann Harmon, Becky Clark, and Carol Hawkins.

Stay warm and healthy and have a great fall season.

BJ, President

2018 - 2020 OFFICERS

President: BJ Taylor

1st Vice-President:

Krystal Meredith

2nd Vice-President:

Evelyn Thompson

Recording Secretary:

Michele Cox

Corresponding Secretary:

Lois Piper

Treasurer:

Carolyn Taylor

Parliamentarian:

Elaine Krause

Past President:

Darlen Ness





October Minutes

Vice - President, Krystal Meredith

- Welcome, Eat

Program

Fundraiser – Scentsy

Orders are due at the next meeting – Nov 2

Community Christmas - Vanessa Wheat

- Kids Christmas
- Donations can be turned in to Carolyn Taylor

Convention in McAllen 17-19 June 2020

Area 8 Convention - August 15th 2020 is the date of the new AREA 8 meeting/convention – location TBD.

Thank you to hostesses – Legislation / Professional Affairs Committees **Next Meeting date Hostesses** – Communications/Courtesy / Personal Growth

Services Committees

Sing, Adjourn

Respectfully Submitted, Michele Cox, Recording Secretary





Treasurer's Report - October, 2019

Cash Balance: Se	ptember 15, 2019	\$1,819.72	
Expenses: none			
Receipt:			
Member dues	78.00		
Door Prize	26.00		
		+\$104.00	
Cash Balance		\$1,923.72	
Investments:			
Lambda Omicron Savings 09/27/2019		\$6,320.16	
Mae Stevens Stude	ent Scholarship 09/24/2019		
		\$7,256.65	
Members' Scholarship 09/30/2019		\$4,673.95	
Total Worth		\$20,174.08	

Respectfully Submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer



Items of interest...

Click on the link 91st Texas State Convention - June 17-19, 2020

From Lone Star News Fall, 2019

Excerpt from Patti Belknap
Texas State President 2019-2021

"You are the Key"



"Each member is important to the organization and welfare of Delta Kappa Gamma and the Texas State Organization. This important and fundamental idea is emphasized in the 2019-2021 theme: YOU are the key. You are the one who said yes to membership. You are the one who says yes to leadership opportunities both in the chapter and in the state. You are the one who mentors new members. Without YOU, TSO will not thrive...."



The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER STANDING COMMITTEES 2019-2020

Society Mission and Purposes

<u>Educational Excellence</u> Krystal Meredith (Chair)

Carol Hawkins

Nancy Arrington

Ella Dawn Eiland

Michele Cox

Personal Growth /Services

Carol Hawkins (Chair)

Joyce Troupe

Rebecca (Becky) Clark

Legislation/Professional

Affairs

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Angelan Ringland

<u>Music</u>

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Lou-Enne Sasscer

Research

Michele Cox (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Educational Services

Scholarship/World

Fellowship/

Achievement Awards

Jan Stalder (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Carolyn Taylor

Lisa Yates

Society Business

Ceremonies Committee

Elaine Krause (Chair)

Ella Dawn Eiland

Lou-Enne Sasscer

Erica Green

Chapter Website

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Beverly Speckman

Finance Committee

Marianna McDonnell

(Chair)

Khalana Carlton

Yearbook

Evelyn Thompson (Chair)

Pat Bigford

Newsletter

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Membership

Lois Piper (Chair)

Beverly Speckman

Constitution & Bylaws

Committee

Lisa Yates (Chair)

Angelan Ringland

Khalana Carlton

Nominations Committee

Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green

Marianna McDonnell

