Volume 40

Issue 6

March, 2022

Virginia Guerrero, Editor

Vpguerrero520@aol.com

Meeting Dates 5:00	
<mark>Apr 4</mark>	CCISD
Monday	Boardroom
<mark>May 2</mark>	CCISD
Monday	Boardroom

2020 - 2022 OFFICERS	
President:	
BJ Taylor	
1 st Vice-President:	
Angelan Ringland	
2 nd Vice-President:	
Evelyn Thompson	
Recording Secretary:	
Michele Cox	
Corresponding Secretary:	
Lois Piper	
Treasurer:	
Carolyn Taylor	
Parliamentarian:	
Elaine Krause	
Past President:	
BJ Taylor	



The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron – Texas State – Area VIII – Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.



President's Remarks

Notes from BJ...



Dear Sisters,

Virginia has informed me that this will be our last newsletter for the year. Thank you so much Virginia for doing this for us.

With that being said, it will also be my last President letter. I want to thank all of you for the help and support you gave me when I was trying to help Darlen finish out her Presidency. Again when Krystal moved on right as the new biennium started, you were all there with

encouragement and support. I have had such a fun time in this group and in leadership of Lambda Omicron. Thank you for being my sisters and especially my friends.

I so look forward to being of help and support to Angelan as she takes over her leadership role soon!!!

I missed our last meeting. I was told everyone had a great time at Rudy's and enjoyed Bingo and our Area Eight Coordinator, Shanna Denson.

I am really looking forward to our next meeting. 4 April, 5:00, CCISD Board Room, bring summer drinks or snacks.

Enjoy the beautiful weather we have been having. Teachers, hang in there. The end is in sight.

Almost Immediate Past President BJ

BJ Taylor,

President





March Minutes

- Rudy's in Killeen Welcome 13 attendees
- Special Guest Area 8 Coordinator Shanna Denson
- Ice Breaker share your Spring Break plans
- We will be greeters for the Area 8 Luncheon 11:00, April 30th at Heitmiller's in Waco. We need to be there about 10:30.
- Dues are \$78.00. Checks can be made out to Lambda Omicron, due by May meeting
- Scholarship Bingo Winners – Erica, Carolyn, Donna, Alli
- News about Elaine Krause She is staying at Hillsboro Assisted Living - 411 Brandon Rd.
 Her daughters visit her 2 - 3 times a week. She level
- Her daughters visit her 2 3 times a week. She loves getting cards.
- Next meeting will be April 4th "Sweet and Salty Snack Sharing" this is similar to our Thanksgiving meeting

Cash Balance: February 15, 2022	\$ 3,758.88
Receipts:	
Door prize \$ 30.00	
Bingo \$100.00	+ 130.00
Expense:	
ASTEF Leadership \$23.00	
ASTEF Scholarship \$23.00	
DKGIEF Scholarship \$10.00	
DKGIEF Golden Gift \$10.00	- 66.00
Cash Balance	\$ 3,822.88
Investments	
Lambda Omicron Savings 02/25/2022	\$ 6,327.91
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 02/24/2022	\$ 6,999.45
Mae Stevens Members' Scholarship 12/31/2021	\$ 5,215.95
Total Worth	\$22,366.19

Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

March 6 Pat Bigford



Items of Interest....

- > April 30th Area 8 Luncheon Heitmiller's in Waco
- <u>93rd Texas DKG Convention</u> June 15 18 Lubbock, TX Click the link to register, find hotels, see the schedule of events.

FEBRUARY - SCHOLARSHP BINGO

1st Vice-President Angelan Ringland leads Scholarship Bingo















<u>The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International</u> <u>LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER</u> <u>STANDING COMMITTEES</u> <u>2021-2022</u>

Society Mission and Purposes	Society Business
Educational Excellence	Ceremonies Committee
Angelan Ringland (Chair)	Elaine Krause (Chair)
Nancy Arrington	Ella Dawn Eiland
Ella Dawn Eiland	Janet Leitch
Michele Cox	Erica Green
Personal Growth /Services	Chapter Website
Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair)	Virginia Guerrero (Chair)
Lois Piper	Beverly Speckman
	Finance Committee
Legislation/Professional	Marianna McDonnell (Chair)
<u>Affairs</u>	Alejandra Uscanga
Nancy Arrington (Chair)	Kathryn Townsend
Angelan Ringland	Yearbook
<u>Music</u>	Evelyn Thompson (Chair)
Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)	Pat Bigford
Janet Leitch	<u>Newsletter</u>
<u>Research</u>	Virginia Guerrero (Chair)
Michele Cox (Chair)	<u>Membership</u>
Myrna Hart	Lois Piper (Chair)
State Stat	Beverly Speckman
Educational Comisso	Constitution & Bylaws
Educational Services	<u>Committee</u>
Scholarship/World Fellowship/	Lisa Yates (Chair)
Achievement Awards	Angelan Ringland
Jan Stalder (Chair)	Alejandra Uscanga
Myrna Hart	Kathryn Townsend
Carolyn Taylor	Communications/Courtesy
Lisa Yates	Ann Harmon (Chair)
	Rebecca (Becky) Clark
	Nominations Committee
	Pat Bigford (Chair)
	Erica Green
	Marianna McDonnell

