Volume 39

Issue 5

March, 2021

Virginia Guerrero, editor Vpguerrero520@aol.com The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron - Texas State - Area VIII - Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: 'Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

President's Remarks

Notes from BJ



Meeting Dates 5:00 April 10 Saturday Rudy's Killeen May 3 Monday Room

Hello Ladies,

I was not at our last meeting, but heard great things about it.

Thank you to Angelan for conducting the meeting and to everyone

that helped out with snacks for CIS.

Our next meeting will be 10 April in Killeen at Rudy's on 190 at 1:00.

Those of you still teaching, I hope you had a great Spring Break. Hopefully you were able to rest and relax so you will have the energy to finish out the school year.

Easter is coming in the next few days. Enjoy the time with family and friends.

Stay safe and healthy.

BJ Taylor, President

2020 - 2022 OFFICERS

President:

BJ Taylor

1st Vice-President:

Angelan Ringland

2nd Vice-President:

Evelyn Thompson

Recording Secretary:

Michele Cox

Corresponding Secretary:

Lois Piper

Treasurer:

Carolyn Taylor

Parliamentarian:

Elaine Krause

Past President:

BJ Taylor





March Minutes

- Attendees: Angelan, Lois, Lisa, Pat, Elaine, Ella Dawn, Carolyn, Marianna, Kay and Michele
- Welcome
- Ice Breaker Inspiration: Chalkdust provided by Marianna
- CIS collection-snacks
 - Picture provided lots of snacks being donated to the High School
- Treasurer Report
 - Budget Vote Cash on hand \$363.02; vote needed in the fall for budget for upcoming year.
- Vote for current year motion made by Michele to accept, second Pat
 - Dues \$78.00, due no later than May meeting checks payable to Lambda Omicron
- \$75.62 refund from X-mas money.
- Old Business
- Rockin R interest if anyone is interested in attending or being a vendor, please let BJ know. Would be next October (2022) – 3 interested in attending, 1 interested in vending (sponsored by Area 8)
- New Business
- Convention-attendance approximately 5 for luncheon
- June 17-19; registration is open register on the web, click the TSO link
- Selling any items no one interested
- Program-Liz Chase donated door prize (Harmony Essential Oils)
- Essential Oils Harmony Essential Oils
- Any other business Janet Leith New member induction pushed to May motion made by Michele,
- 2nd by Lois, rather than holding it at Rudy's.
- Next Meeting Rudy's in Killeen Saturday, April 10th at 1 pm.
- Sing

Respectfully submitted, Michele Cox, Secretary

Items of interest

Don't forget TSO 92nd State Convention – Denton
June 17-19, 2021



Treasurer's Report - March 9,2021

Cash Balance: February 12, 2021	\$ 3,091.64
Transfer funds from checking to \$148.00 Members scholarship \$148.50 Student Scholarship account	\$ -296.50
Receipt:	
Door Prize \$ 56.00	
4 Members Dues \$ 312.00	\$ 368.00
Cash Balance	\$ 3,163.14
Investments:	
Lambda Omicron Savings 02/25/2021	\$ 6,326.02
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 02/24/2021 + \$148.50	\$ 7,799.24
Members' Scholarship 12/31/2020 + \$148.00	\$ 5,214.64
Total Worth	\$22,503.04

Respectfully submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer

MARCH MEETING AND SNACKS FOR CIS











The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER STANDING COMMITTEES 2020-2021

Society Mission and Purposes

Educational Excellence

Angelan Ringland (Chair)

Nancy Arrington

Ella Dawn Eiland

Michele Cox

Personal Growth /Services

Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair)

Lois Piper

Legislation/Professional

Affairs

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Angelan Ringland

Music

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Lou-Enne Sasscer

Research

Michele Cox (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Educational Services

Scholarship/World

Fellowship/

Achievement Awards

Jan Stalder (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Carolyn Taylor

Lisa Yates

Society Business

Ceremonies Committee

Elaine Krause (Chair)

Ella Dawn Eiland

Lou-Enne Sasscer

Erica Green

Chapter Website

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Beverly Speckman

Finance Committee

Marianna McDonnell (Chair)

Khalana Carlton

Kathryn Townsend

Yearbook

Evelyn Thompson (Chair)

Pat Bigford

Newsletter

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Membership

Lois Piper (Chair)

Beverly Speckman

Constitution & Bylaws

Committee

Lisa Yates (Chair)

Angelan Ringland

Khalana Carlton

Kathryn Townsend

Nominations Committee

Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green

Marianna McDonnell

