Volume 38

Issue 4

January, 2020

Virginia Guerrero, editor Vpguerrero520@aol.com The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron - Texas State - Area VIII - Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: 'Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

President's Remarks

Notes from BJ



Meeting Dates 4:45	
Feb 3	CCHS Rm
	<mark>196</mark>
Mar 2	Library at
	CCHS
	<mark>Use door –</mark>
	<mark>S-12</mark>

Dear DKG Sisters.



2018 - 2020 OFFICERS

President: BJ Taylor

1st Vice-President:

Krystal Meredith

2nd Vice-President:

Evelyn Thompson
Recording Secretary:

Michele Cox

Corresponding Secretary:

Lois Piper

Treasurer:

Carolyn Taylor

Parliamentarian:

Elaine Krause
Past President:

Darlen Ness

Ou exp

DKGII

Our last meeting had Danny Velarde from CIS and his assistant explaining what CIS is all about. They were both very appreciative of the snacks we provided for their students.

Welcome to a new decade! Make the most of it at work, at play, and at

I know we are all very busy. Please put 15 August 2020 on your new calendar/date book. This will be our Area Eight Workshop. As of now I do not have any details other than the date. Lisa/Lambda Omicron put on a GREAT one last year. We need to check out how someone else does it.

Stay healthy, get your flu shot, wash your hands often, and drink plenty of fluids.

Our next meeting will be 3 February, 4:45 in room 196 at the High School.

BRING YOUR TEDDY BEARS for the Police Department.

BJ, President





January Minutes

- Welcome New year's resolution share Meet and Mingle -Sell door prize tickets
- Speaker introductions

Danny Velarde-High School CIS – talked about student needs – they need someone to "listen" to them. Tutoring time, snacks – food, socks, utilities, paper products.

- Theresa Morgan-High School TAFE Texas Association of Future Educators BJ spoke about scholarships and judging an event for educators.
- Old Business

Silent Auction Report – Report Given by Carolyn – less than what we have raised in the past – \$445

- Kids Christmas Report \$402 Ms. Carol Hawkins went shopping for the family of 7.
- New Business

Nominations Committee Report – President: Krystal Meredith

1st VP: Angelan Ringland 2nd VP: Evelyn Thompson

Recording Secretary: Michele Cox Corresponding Secretary: Lois Piper Parliamentarian: Elaine Krause

- Convention in Corpus Christi Let BJ know
- Thank you to the hostesses yummy treats....need the saltine, chocolate, and caramel recipe please. See below!!
- Next month

Bring teddy bears

Date and time – 2/3/2020 – CCHS room 196 at 4:45 (come to Door S-12)

- Draw door prizes
- Sing and head home

Respectfully Submitted, Michele Cox, Recording Secretary



Recipe:

click on the link Trisha Yearwood's "Sweet & Saltines"



Treasurer's Report - January 15, 2020

Cash Balance: December 10, 2019	\$2,737.77
Expenses:	
ASTEF (Scholarship) \$26.00	
ASTEF (Leadership) \$26.00	
DKG (Golden Gift) \$20.00	
DKG (Scholarship Fund) \$20.00	- \$92.00
Receipt:	+ \$36.00
Door Prize \$36.00	
Cash Balance	\$2,681.77
Investments:	
Lambda Omicron Savings 12/27/2019	\$6,321.73
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 12/24/2019	
	\$7,258.47
Members' Scholarship 12/31/2019	\$4,674.14
Total Worth	\$20,936.11

Respectfully Submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer

CIS, Danny Velarde & Karen Jackson – discussing the role of CIS and accepting snacks for the high school.







Items of interest...

Don't forget Area 8 Workshop – Aug. 15, more details to follow

Click on the link 91st Texas State Convention - June 17-19, 2020



The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER STANDING COMMITTEES 2019-2020

Society Mission and Purposes

<u>Educational Excellence</u> Krystal Meredith (Chair)

Carol Hawkins

Nancy Arrington

Ella Dawn Eiland

Michele Cox

Personal Growth /Services

Carol Hawkins (Chair)

Joyce Troupe

Rebecca (Becky) Clark

Legislation/Professional

Affairs

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Angelan Ringland

Music

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Lou-Enne Sasscer

Research

Michele Cox (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Educational Services

Scholarship/World

Fellowship/

Achievement Awards

Jan Stalder (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Carolyn Taylor

Lisa Yates

Society Business

Ceremonies Committee

Elaine Krause (Chair)

Ella Dawn Eiland

Lou-Enne Sasscer

Erica Green

Chapter Website

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Beverly Speckman

Finance Committee

Marianna McDonnell

(Chair)

Khalana Carlton

Yearbook

Evelyn Thompson (Chair)

Pat Bigford

Newsletter

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Membership

Lois Piper (Chair)

Beverly Speckman

Constitution & Bylaws

Committee

Lisa Yates (Chair)

Angelan Ringland

Khalana Carlton

Nominations Committee

Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green

Marianna McDonnell

