## Volume 41 Issue 4

February, 2023

Virginia Guerrero, Editor Vpguerrero520@aol.com The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron – Texas State – Area VIII – Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

#### **Lines from Lambda Omicron**

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

#### **Mission Statement:**

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

Meeting Dates 5:00	
Mar 4 - 1:00 Saturday	Rudy's Killeen
Apr 3	First Presbyterian Church Copperas Cove

## 2022 - 2024 OFFICERS President: Angelan Ringland 1st Vice-President: Kay Townsend 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-President: **Evelyn Thompson** Recording Secretary: Michele Cox Corresponding Secretary: Lois Piper Treasurer: Carolyn Taylor Parliamentarian: Elaine Krause Past President:



#### President's Remarks

Notes from Angelan...



Hello everyone!

Hello ladies! How fun was our last meeting with Kay Townsend stepping in and teaching us the history of tea?! I loved the fascinating hats and gloves we had for accessories! We even had guests come!

I'm looking forward to our scholarship bingo on Saturday, March 4th at 1:00 at Rudy's BBQ in Killeen. Bingo games will be \$5 each.

Please bring a friend to raise money for our scholarship fund.



Angelan Ringland, President



**BJ** Taylor



### **February Minutes**

- I. Inspiration
- II. Introduction of Guests Kimberly French and Sarah Kenney
- III. Tea Presentation-Kay Townsend
- IV. January Meeting/CPE overview Sarah Kenney volunteered to present again at the beginning of our next year
- V. Important Dates Update
- VI. Collect teddy bears and take group picture
- VII. Door Prizes
- VIII. Sing

#### **Important Dates:**

Feb. 7th-TSO Virtual Meeting

Feb 24-26 – Leadership Seminar 2023 – Michele was selected to attend

March 31st & April 1st- TSO Technology Conference in Cleburne

April 3rd- Area 8 President, Shanna Denson will be attending our meeting

April 12th- TRTA at the Capital fighting for COLA

May 6th- Area 8 luncheon (keep at restaurant or cater style for \$50 a plate)

June 14-17th- State Convention in McAllen

Respectfully submitted, Michele Cox, Recording Secretary

## Treasurer's Report - February 9, 2023

Cash Balance on Jan. 17, 2023	\$3,726.44
Receipts: Door Prize \$37.00	+\$ 37.00
Expense: TX St Work Shop \$20.00	
ATSEF Leadership 10.00	
ATSEF Scholarship 10.00	-\$ 40.00
Cash Balance	\$3,723.44
Investments:	
Lambda Omicron Savings 01/27/2023	\$ 6,333.29
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 01/24/2023	
(Student Scholarship)	\$ 6,755.11
Mae Stevens Members' Scholarship 12/30/2022	\$ 5,475.34
Total Worth	\$22,287.18

Respectfully submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer



## Social Emotional Learning - SEL CPE Workshop - January 14, 2023 Presenter – Sarah Kenney Behavior Specialist







#### **FEBRUARY'S BRITISH TEA**

Kay Townsend gives a presentation on the history of British Tea time!







## **Teddy Bear Donations for the Copperas Cove Police Dept**









# The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER STANDING COMMITTEES 2022-2023



#### Society Mission and Purposes

#### **Educational Excellence**

Kathryn Townsend (Chair)

Nancy Arrington

Ella Dawn Eiland

Michele Cox

Personal Growth /Services

Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair)

Lois Piper

Angela Dunlap

Legislation/Professional

**Affairs** 

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Kathryn Townsend

**BJ** Taylor

Music

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Janet Leitch

Research

Michele Cox (Chair)

Myrna Hart

**Educational Services** 

Scholarship/World

Fellowship/

**Achievement Awards** 

Jan Stalder (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Carolyn Taylor

Lisa Yates

**Society Business** 

**Ceremonies Committee** 

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Janet Leitch

Erica Green

Kelley Grubb

Chapter Website

**Virginia Guerrero (Chair)** 

Kelley Grubb

**Finance Committee** 

Marianna McDonnell (Chair)

Alejandra Uscanga

Donna Ringland

**Yearbook** 

**Evelyn Thompson (Chair)** 

Pat Bigford

**Newsletter** 

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Membership

Lois Piper (Chair)

Angela Dunlap

Constitution & Bylaws

Committee

Lisa Yates (Chair)

Kathryn Townsend

Alejandra Uscanga

Communications/Courtesy

Ann Harmon (Chair)

Rebecca (Becky) Clark

**Nominations Committee** 

Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green

Marianna McDonnell

BJ Taylor

