

Volume 39

Issue 4

February, 2021

Virginia Guerrero, editor Vpguerrero520@aol.com The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International

Lambda Omicron - Texas State - Area VIII - Chapter 27 Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Corvell County, Texas

Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

President's Remarks

Notes from BJ



CCISD Mar 1 **Board Room**

Meeting Dates 5:00

Apr 10 Rudy's 1:00 SATURDAY

Killeen

CCISD May 5 **Board Room** Happy Holidays DKG Sisters,

Didn't I write in my last letter that I moved away from lowa to get away from this weather? My father would watch the late night news and then head out to shovel the snow before he went to bed. It made it so much easier to get out of the house in the morning if the snow wasn't tromped on. He shoveled again first thing in the morning. Where is my father when I need him!

2020 - 2022 OFFICERS

President: **BJ** Taylor

1st Vice-President:

Angelan Ringland

2nd Vice-President:

Evelyn Thompson

Recording Secretary: Michele Cox

Corresponding Secretary:

Lois Piper

Treasurer:

Carolyn Taylor

Parliamentarian:

Elaine Krause

Past President:

BJ Taylor

Please stay warm, and take the needed precautions to keep you, your pets, and your house safe.

I am not adding much other than the minutes from the last meeting. Please collect and bring CIS snacks tour next meeting.

Stay healthy, BJ Taylor, President







February Minutes DKG Minutes - 1 February 2021

- BJ welcomed everyone.
- Becky-taking chances, and BJ-heart of a teacher, each had an inspirational thought.
- \$78.00 dues will start being collected in May.
- Angeline joins the financial committee.
- Area 8 Luncheon-1 May 2021, Heitmiller's in Waco.
- Any interest in a craft retreat in Temple 8-10 October 2021?
- Chapter Spotlight-ask Virginia to write it up again.
- Next meeting-1 March 2021, bring CIS snacks for the High School.
- Program-Light all body exercises by Robin Spencer.
- Teddy Bears were collected for the Copperas Cove Police Dept.

Respectfully submitted, Michele Cox

Don't forget <u>TSO 92nd State Convention – Denton</u> June 17-19, 2021

Treasurer's Report - February 12, 2021

Cash Balance: Jan 11, 2021		\$3,063.02
Expenses:		
ATSEF Leadership	\$24.00	
ATSEF Scholarship	\$24.00	
Golden Gift	\$24.00	
Scholarship Fund	\$24.00	96.00
Receipt:		
Refund from Children's Christmas \$75.62		
Door Prize	\$49.00	
		\$ 124.62
Cash Balance		\$3,091.64
Investments:		
Lambda Omicron Savings 01/27/2021		\$6,325.77
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 01/22/2021		\$7,650.67
Mae Stevens Members' Scholarship 12/31/2020		\$5,066.64
Total Worth		\$22,134.72

Respectfully submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer



The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER STANDING COMMITTEES 2020-2021

Society Mission and Purposes

Educational Excellence

Angelan Ringland (Chair)

Nancy Arrington

Ella Dawn Eiland

Michele Cox

Personal Growth /Services

Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair)

Lois Piper

Legislation/Professional

Affairs

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Angelan Ringland

Music

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Lou-Enne Sasscer

Research

Michele Cox (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Educational Services

Scholarship/World

Fellowship/

Achievement Awards

Jan Stalder (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Carolyn Taylor

Lisa Yates

Society Business

Ceremonies Committee

Elaine Krause (Chair)

Ella Dawn Eiland

Lou-Enne Sasscer

Erica Green

Chapter Website

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Beverly Speckman

Finance Committee

Marianna McDonnell (Chair)

Khalana Carlton

Kathryn Townsend

<u>Yearbook</u>

Evelyn Thompson (Chair)

Pat Bigford

Newsletter

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Membership

Lois Piper (Chair)

Beverly Speckman

Constitution & Bylaws

Committee

Lisa Yates (Chair)

Angelan Ringland

Khalana Carlton

Kathryn Townsend

Nominations Committee

Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green

Marianna McDonnell

