Volume 42

Issue 3

December, 2023

Virginia Guerrero, Editor

Vpguerrero520@aol.com

Meeting Dates 5:00		
Jan 6 Saturday	CCHS Rm 196	
Feb 5	Grace Lutheran Church Killeen	



2022 - 2024 OFFICERS

resi		

Angelan Ringland

1st Vice-President:

Kay Townsend

2nd Vice-President:

Evelyn Thompson

Recording Secretary:

Michele Cox

Corresponding Secretary:

Lois Piper

Treasurer:

Carolyn Taylor

Parliamentarian:

Elaine Krause

Past President:

BJ Taylor

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International

Texas State Organization – Area 8 Lambda Omicron Chapter 27

"Educators serving the greater Ft. Cavazos Area" *Lines from Lambda Omicron*

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education



President's Remarks

Notes from Angelan...



It's almost 2024! Time is going by fast. We had our annual silent auction fundraiser this past meeting. We raised \$488.00. This is lower than previous years. We also had our Kendra Scott fundraiser and with no one showing up we won't have a lot from that either. Please send ideas for fundraisers! We want to be able to continue to provide scholarships and these are the way the funds are provided.

The pot luck was delicious! Thank you to those ladies who brought food and items for our auction! Thank you to those who bought items from the auction!

I'm excited for our game day and pot luck on January 6th from 1-4PM. It will be nice to get to know each other better and have some fun! Please enjoy your holidays with family, friends, and can't forget pets!

Angelan Ringland, President

December Minutes

DKG-Lambda Omicron Meeting December 4, 2023-Agenda I. Inspiration- Mrs. French

- II. Introduction of Guests if any
- III. Grab a plate of food
- IV. Start bidding!
- V. Go over budget- Carolyn
- VI. Go over Bylaws- Michele
- VII. January Meeting- status update
- VIII. Vote!
- IX. Finalize bidding/pay Carolyn
- X. Sing

Important Dates:

June 22nd- Area Regional Workshop in Austin

Slate of officers presented for 2024-2026
President - Michele Cox
1st VP - Kay Townsend
2nd VP - Angela Dunlap
Treasurer - Carolyn Taylor
Corresponding Secretary - Lois Piper
Recording secretary - Pat Bigford
Parliamentarian - Ella Dawn Filand

Parliamentarian - Ella Dawn Eiland Past President - Angelan Ringlad

Angelan Ringland made motion to approve as is Pat Bigford second

Treasurer report
Kim French made motion to approve
BJ second

Chapter Bi-law review
Pat made motion to accept updates
Lisa Yates second

Respectfully, Michele L. Cox, Ed.D.

December 12, 2023

Treasurer's Report

Cash Balance on November 11, 2023		\$4,181.31	
Receipts			
Door Prize	\$ 75.00		
Children's Christmas	\$ 20.00		
Silent Auction	\$488.00	+\$ 583.00	
Expense			
Children's Christmas	\$272.99	-\$ 272.99	
Cash Balance		\$4,491.32	
Investments:			
Lambda Omicron Savings 11/27/2023		\$6,348.99	
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 11/24/2023		\$6,934.33	
Mae Stevens Member Scholarship 9/29/2023		\$5,487.32	
Total Worth		\$23,261.96	

Respectively Submitted Carolyn Taylor Treasurer



Reminders:

Central Regional Area Workshop

Date: Saturday, June 22, 2024
Time: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Place: McNeil High School

5720 McNeil Drive Austin, TX 78729

Cost: \$50 if registered by May 15th

\$65 if registered between May 16th and June 1st

\$65 at the door

Registration information will be sent to Chapters in February, 2024
A list of hotels near McNeil High School will be included with registration info



The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER STANDING COMMITTEES 2023 - 2024



Society Mission and Purposes

Educational Excellence

Kathryn Townsend (Chair)

Nancy Arrington

Ella Dawn Eiland

Michele Cox (Ed.D)

Personal Growth /Services

Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair)

Lois Piper

Angela Dunlap

Legislation/Professional Affairs

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Kathryn Townsend

BJ Taylor

Music

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Janet Leitch

Research

Dr. Michele Cox (Ed.D.) (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Educational Services

Scholarship/World Fellowship/

Achievement Awards

Jan Stalder (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Carolyn Taylor

Lisa Yates

Society Business

Ceremonies Committee

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Janet Leitch

Erica Green

Sarah Kenney

Chapter Website

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Maria Baglan

Finance Committee

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Alejandra Uscanga

Donna Ringland

Yearbook

Evelyn Thompson (Chair)

Pat Bigford

Newsletter

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Membership

Lois Piper (Chair)

Angela Dunlap

Constitution & Bylaws

Committee

Lisa Yates (Chair)

Kathryn Townsend

Alejandra Uscanga

Communications/Courtesy

Ann Harmon (Chair)

Rebecca (Becky) Clark

Nominations Committee

Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green

Kimberly French

BJ Taylor