Volume 39

Issue 3

December, 2020

Virginia Guerrero, editor Vpguerrero520@aol.com The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron - Texas State - Area VIII - Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

President's Remarks

Notes from BJ



Meeting Dates 5:00		
<mark>Jan 11</mark>	CCISD Board	
Monday	Room	
Feb 1	CCISD Board	
<mark>Monday</mark>	Room	

2020 - 2022 OFFICERS
President:
BJ Taylor
1 st Vice-President:
Angelan Ringland
2 nd Vice-President:
Evelyn Thompson
Recording Secretary:
Michele Cox
Corresponding Secretary:
Lois Piper
Treasurer:
Carolyn Taylor
Parliamentarian:
Elaine Krause
Past President:
BJ Taylor



Happy Holidays DKG Sisters,



I hope all of you that work are now off for some much deserved and needed vacation. Get caught up on sleep, television and movies, correspondence and time with family and friends. But be sure to stay safe and healthy.

Our 9 December meeting at German Imbiss went very well. We had a couple visitors and perspective members. We collected a total of \$385.00 for Kid's Christmas. Thank you Marianna, Becky, and Lois for getting that taken care of and delivered. We hauled in \$495.00 from the auction. Thank you to everyone that participated.

Please send me your appetizer recipe from the November meeting and I will pass it on to the membership.

Our next meeting will be 11 January 2021, 5:00, CCISD Board Room Please invite perspective members and new to the district teachers. We will be buying bingo cards and playing Educational Bingo. Keep collecting those teddy bears for our February meeting. My husband Don, dog Sky, cat Phoenix and I wish you a wonderful holiday season.

Merry Christmas

BJ Taylor, President



December Minutes

Lambda Omicron Agenda

- Welcome
- Ice Breaker- Share Christmas Traditions
- **Inspirational Thought** Legislation/Professional Affairs and Yearbook Committees - Angelan Ringland
- Bidding on Auction Items
- Old Business Children's Christmas
- New Business Collect Teddy Bears for February Meeting
- DKG pins \$5.00 (photo below)- see Patty or Lisa
- Next Meeting Jan. 11 CCISD Board Room -Invite new teachers
- Scholarship/World Fellowship/ Achievement Awards Committees will host
- Sing

Respectfully submitted, Michele Cox, Secretary

Treasurer's Report - December 15, 2020

Cash Balance: Nov 9, 2020		\$2,795.07
Expenses:		
M.McDonnell – Childre	n's Christmas - \$385.00	
Receipt:		
Silet Auction	\$495.00	
Children's Christmas	\$133.00 + (\$25.00 Gift card)	\$ 653.00
Cash Balance		\$3,063.07
Investments:		
Lambda Omicron Savings 11/27/2020		\$6,325.24
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 11/24/2020		\$7,650.55
Members' Scholarship 09/30/2020		\$5,066.00
Total Worth		\$22,104.59

Respectfully submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer



CHRISTMAS SILENT AUCTION











Items of interest

Don't forget <u>TSO 92nd State Convention – Denton</u> June 17-19, 2021



<u>The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International</u> <u>LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER</u> <u>STANDING COMMITTEES</u> <u>2020-2021</u>

Society Mission and Purposes

Educational Excellence Angelan Ringland (Chair) Nancy Arrington Ella Dawn Eiland Michele Cox Personal Growth /Services Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair)

Lois Piper

<u>Legislation/Professional</u> <u>Affairs</u> Nancy Arrington (Chair) Angelan Ringland

<u>Music</u> Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair) Lou-Enne Sasscer

<u>Research</u> Michele Cox (Chair) Myrna Hart

<u>Educational Services</u> Scholarship/World

Fellowship/ Achievement Awards Jan Stalder (Chair) Myrna Hart Carolyn Taylor Lisa Yates

Society Business

Ceremonies Committee Elaine Krause (Chair) Ella Dawn Eiland Lou-Enne Sasscer Erica Green Chapter Website Virginia Guerrero (Chair) **Beverly Speckman** Finance Committee Marianna McDonnell (Chair) Khalana Carlton Kathryn Townsend Yearbook **Evelyn Thompson (Chair)** Pat Bigford Newsletter Virginia Guerrero (Chair) Membership Lois Piper (Chair) **Beverly Speckman Constitution & Bylaws Committee** Lisa Yates (Chair) Angelan Ringland Khalana Carlton Kathryn Townsend Nominations Committee Pat Bigford (Chair) Erica Green

Marianna McDonnell

