Volume 41

Issue 6

April, 2023

Virginia Guerrero, Editor

Vpguerrero520@aol.com

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron – Texas State – Area VIII – Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.



Meeting Dates 5:00

May 1

Grace Lutheran Church Killeen

2022 - 2024 OFFICERS

President:

Angelan Ringland

1st Vice-President:

Kay Townsend

2nd Vice-President:

Evelyn Thompson

Recording Secretary:

Michele Cox

Corresponding Secretary:

Lois Piper

Treasurer:

Carolyn Taylor

Parliamentarian:

Elaine Krause

Past President:

BJ Taylor

President's Remarks

Notes from Angelan...

Hello ladies!



I can't believe we just have one more meeting left for this year. Our Area 8 Coordinator, Shanna Denson, enjoyed our DKG Founders' presentation so much she asked for us to replicate it at our area 8 luncheon! How awesome!

Our board will be getting together to decide programs and dates for our meetings next year. If you have any ideas or suggestions, please email me at dance_0419@yahoo.com

I will see you all at our last official meeting for this year on May 1st at 5:30 PM to induct our new members and celebrate our birthday!

Don't forget about our luncheon in Waco on Saturday, May 6th!

Angelan Ringland,

Register and click the link:

94th TSO Convention, McAllen, TX June 14-17,2023





April Minutes

- April 3rd Presbyterian Church Copperas Cove -13 in attendance to include Guest
 Area 8 Coordinator, Shanna Denson
- Kay Townsend provided Inspiration "Who Inspired you to enter the field?"
- Ella Dawn Founder's Day Presentation
- Lois is the archiver Has albums of information if anyone is interested in looking at them
- Provided update on Teddy Bears POC Lt. Baker Police, then donated some to the fire department and took the remainder to the Rainbow Room (abused children shelter). Next year, she will look at mainly Rainbow Room.
- New Business- Donation for Grace Lutheran and Presbyterian Churches for use of facilities - BJ made motion, Michele seconds, motion passed
- Shanna Denson mentioned possibly have a mentor program as an incentive for new members focus on Membership. She acknowledged that we are doing great things as we know.
- May 6 Area 8 Luncheon Reminder in Waco
- April 12th COLA fight (KISD)
- April 11th Killeen area fighting for hourly rate employees pay raise
- June 14th State Convention McAllen
- REMINDER Dues are due by 5/10 \$78.00

Respectfully submitted, Michele Cox, Recording Secretary

Treasurer's Report - April 12, 2023

Cash Balance on Mar 7, 2023		\$4010.44
Receipts:		+\$ 837.00
10 members 780.00		
1 reserve 27.00		
Door Prize 30.00		
Expense: Gift card for convention	\$20.00,	-\$ 95.00
Reimburse for ASTEF Scholarship,	\$25.00	
First Presbyterian Church	\$50.00	
Cash Balance		\$4,829.23
Investments:		
Lambda Omicron Savings 03/27/2023		\$ 6,335.63
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 03/24/2023		
•		\$ 6,930.65
Mae Stevens Members' Scholarship 03/31/2023		\$ 5,479.44
Total Worth		\$23,574.95

Respectfully submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer





The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTERSTANDING COMMITTEES 2022-2023



Society Mission and Purposes

Educational Excellence

Kathryn Townsend (Chair)

Nancy Arrington

Ella Dawn Eiland

Michele Cox

Personal Growth /Services

Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair)

Lois Piper

Angela Dunlap

Legislation/Professional

Affairs

Nancy Arrington (Chair)

Kathryn Townsend

BJ Taylor

<u>Music</u>

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Janet Leitch

Research

Michele Cox (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Educational Services

Scholarship/World

Fellowship/

Achievement Awards

Jan Stalder (Chair)

Myrna Hart

Carolyn Taylor

Lisa Yates

Society Business

Ceremonies Committee

Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair)

Janet Leitch

Erica Green

Kelley Grubb

Chapter Website

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Kelley Grubb

Finance Committee

Marianna McDonnell (Chair)

Alejandra Uscanga

Donna Ringland

Yearbook

Evelyn Thompson (Chair)

Pat Bigford

Newsletter

Virginia Guerrero (Chair)

Membership

Lois Piper (Chair)

Angela Dunlap

Constitution & Bylaws

Committee

Lisa Yates (Chair)

Kathryn Townsend

Alejandra Uscanga

Communications/Courtesy

Ann Harmon (Chair)

Rebecca (Becky) Clark

Nominations Committee

Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green

Marianna McDonnell

BJ Taylor

