Volume 39

Issue 6

April, 2021

Virginia Guerrero, editor Vpguerrero520@aol.com The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Lambda Omicron - Texas State - Area VIII - Chapter 27

Serving women educators in Copperas Cove, Coryell County, Texas

### Lines from Lambda Omicron

Our Mission Statement: "Lambda Omicron promotes unity among women educators in a caring society for excellence in professional and personal growth."

Mission Statement:

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International promotes professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education.

#### President's Remarks

## Notes from BJ



Meeting E 5:00	
<mark>May 3</mark>	CCISD Board
Monday	Room

2020 - 2022 OFFICERS
President:
BJ Taylor
1 <sup>st</sup> Vice-President:
Angelan Ringland
2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice-President:
Evelyn Thompson
Recording Secretary:
Michele Cox
Corresponding Secretary:
Lois Piper
Treasurer:
Carolyn Taylor
Parliamentarian:
Elaine Krause
Past President:
BJ Taylor



Dear Ladies,

It was so nice to see you at Rudy's on 10 April. We had a wonderful get together with our Area 8 Coordinator, Cathy Burke. We were also able to spend time with a couple of super Lambda Omicron candidates. Hope to see more of them at future meetings. We discussed: District Luncheon, 1 May State Convention, 16-18 June International, 21-24 July Our next meeting will be 3 May, 5:00 - CCISD Board Room. We will plan on having two past scholarship recipients address us on their choice of education careers and what they are currently teaching Hope you can make it!

BJ Taylor, President



## April Minutes

- Welcome Attendees: BJ, Lisa, Kay, Angelan, Michele, Carolyn, Pat, Elaine, Lois, Marianna,
- Guests: Cathy, Alejandra, and Gladys
- Sell door prize tickets
- Ice Breaker Speed get to know each other
- Introduction of Guests Cathy Burke Area 8 Coordinator; past chapter member – Alejandra Uscanga (plans to reinstate); and Gladys Figueroa – 23-year educator (currently at CCHS – 2 years)
- Sing Happy Birthday to Cathy Burke
- Inspiration Einstein Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school. I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious. A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.
- Old Business Dues (\$78) are due by next meeting; else it will need to be mailed to Carolyn after that.
- New Business
  - Gift cards for State \$25 increment
  - Attendance at State Convention -
    - Pay for room June
  - o Attendance at International Convention
    - Pay July 21-24 San Antonio
  - Attendance on 1 May Luncheon Carolyn, Lisa, Becky, Marianna
  - New member installation May Janet Lieto (CPE); reinstate Alejandra Uscanga (left on Military Orders)
  - Rockin-R-Retreat anyone interested (October 1-3) register on the Rockin-R website Program
  - Founder's Day and History of DKG Elaine shared and Michele provided DKG history from the DKG website.
  - Next meeting 3 May, 5:00, CCISD Board Room
  - DKG Birthday, Scholarship recipient sharing
  - Ceremonies and Music Committees in charge Elaine, Ella Dawn, Lou-Enne, Erica
    - Door prize drawing

Respectfully submitted, Michele Cox, Secretary

Items of interest District Luncheon – May 1

Don't forget - TSO 92<sup>nd</sup> State Convention – Denton June 17 - 19



Cash Balance: March 9, 2021		\$ 3,163.14
Door Prize	\$ 42.00	\$ 472.00
Receipt: 5 Members' Dues	\$390.00	
Pins	\$ 40.00	
Cash Balance		\$ 3,635.64
vestments:		
Lambda Omicron Savings 03/26/2021		\$ 6,327.27
Mae Stevens Student Scholarship 03/24/2021		\$ 7,798.80
Mae Stevens Members' Scholarship 12/31/2020		\$ 5,215.15
otal Worth	•	\$22,976.86

Respectfully submitted, Carolyn Taylor, Treasurer

# **APRIL'S MEETING AT RUDY'S**









## <u>The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International</u> <u>LAMBDA OMICRON CHAPTER</u> <u>STANDING COMMITTEES</u> <u>2020-2021</u>

Society Mission and Purposes

Educational Excellence Angelan Ringland (Chair) Nancy Arrington Ella Dawn Eiland Michele Cox Personal Growth /Services

Rebecca (Becky) Clark (Chair) Lois Piper

<u>Legislation/Professional</u> <u>Affairs</u> Nancy Arrington (Chair) Angelan Ringland

<u>Music</u> Ella Dawn Eiland (Chair) Lou-Enne Sasscer

<u>Research</u> Michele Cox (Chair) Myrna Hart

<u>Educational Services</u> Scholarship/World

Fellowship/ Achievement Awards Jan Stalder (Chair) Myrna Hart Carolyn Taylor Lisa Yates

#### Society Business

**Ceremonies Committee** Elaine Krause (Chair) Ella Dawn Eiland Lou-Enne Sasscer Erica Green Chapter Website Virginia Guerrero (Chair) **Beverly Speckman** Finance Committee Marianna McDonnell (Chair) Khalana Carlton Kathryn Townsend Yearbook **Evelyn Thompson (Chair)** Pat Bigford Newsletter Virginia Guerrero (Chair) Membership Lois Piper (Chair) **Beverly Speckman** Constitution & Bylaws **Committee** Lisa Yates (Chair) Angelan Ringland Khalana Carlton Kathryn Townsend Nominations Committee Pat Bigford (Chair)

Erica Green Marianna McDonnell

